The Weatherman – Proper Goodbye

Listening to this for the first time, I was trying to place the proper comparison. The band I settled on was the Beach Boys, but I’m not sure The Weatherman are necessarily going for the Portuguese Beach Boys. I think my mind was drawn towards such a comparison because of the simple yet enjoyable music of each. They aren’t building a wall of sound but a pillowy sound that you can fall into and enjoy.

The Weatherman were formed in 2006 by Alex Monteiro. The Portuguese band took a hiatus but are now returning with new music. Proper Goodbye is the first single in advance of the new album.

Joining Alex Monteiro, Proper Goodbye features Rui Maia, Nuno Sarafa on drums, and John Andre on bass and co-production.